Why do you want to become a nurse part 3

In this post I’ll talk about the last 2 reasons I’ve heard

I want to marry a doctor and I want to make a lot of money

I can respond to both of these quite easily….give me a break!!!!!

In the first place, if you want to become a nurse for either of those reasons you’re watching too many soap operas, situation-comedies or medically based shows.

“I want to marry a doctor” is not only a shallow reason to become a nurse, it can be unrealistic. Yes, as a nurse you meet and work with several physicians and yes, some nurses are married to doctors. Physicians don’t go to school so they can marry a nurse, they may not be looking to find a wife in the first place. I’ve seen what physicians go through as far as being on call for12-24 hours or more with little to no sleep. Do you really want to be married to someone who you may never see due to office hours, hospital rounds and on-call hours? And as I stated above, they may make a lot of money but they have to spend a lot for insurance, office overhead, not to mention what they’ve spent for education and training. Unless they’re already rich, they’ll be paying on their student loans for quite a while.

“I want to make a lot of money” is a pretty shallow and unrealistic reason as well. Sure, nursing can pay pretty well but not as much as you’d think especially in some areas. Office nurses make a lot less than hospital nurses.  Making “a lot” of money may not offset the long hours you’ll work, the potential for injury you’ll face as well the possibility of abuse you can receive from patients, their families, some physicians and even other nurses. illness. And getting an education as a nurse isn’t cheap either, especially is you get a Bachelors or Masters degree.

I’m not trying to talk you out of becoming a nurse, I’m just trying to get you to look at why you want to do it in the first place.

Next time, we’ll talk about the different nursing specialties.

Keep looking up

Janet

 

About iowan2nc

Living in Asheville with my husband Tony and son Gaberiel
This entry was posted in Nursing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

